Reading into 2014

31 12 2013

I think I’ve decided how to concentrate my Bible reading in 2014. I’m going to pick 2 books – one in the Old Testament and one in the New – and read them thoroughly for three or four months. I mean read, re-read, and read again, look up references, pray over, memorise bits, make notes about them, and read again. I think it would be good for me to get myself immersed in a book or two rather than cursory reading lots of books.

That’s my plan. I just need to stick to it now.

I’ll take the same amount of time as before, on my own, using my Bible (ie not my iPad) and notebook.

I’ve decided on 1st Peter for the NT and I’m thinking about Psalms for the OT (not them all, obviously). But I might try Genesis after a few weeks.

I’ll see how it goes for a few months at least. If you haven’t decided on a plan to read your Bible yet then check out Justin Taylor’s round up of suggestions.. He gives lots of ideas and tells you to use the ESV Bible translation. I like the NLT better to read but I’ll probably read a few translations of 1st Peter (which are available on my iPad, drat).

Feel free to ask me how it’s going…..

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

