Pride Comes Before a Fall

12 04 2011

The Pride

A few weeks ago, my brother-in-law met someone who knew my husband over 20 years ago. “I remember him,” the guy said, “he had terrible dress sense and he married a hot chick.”

Oh, how I crowed – as only chicks can. I told people, I dropped it into every conversation with my husband. I mused how both statements are still true. Ah, the sweet satisfaction. And then..

The Fall

On Saturday I was talking to a Dad while watching my children at a sports day. We made the usual small talk, and I told him I had three children. “And another one on the way?” he queried.
“No.” I replied, after picking myself off the ground.
“| thought you had a bump there.” He explained.
“I’m just fat,” was the only reply I could think of.

There you have it. I had to eat chocolate to console myself.

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 04 2011
Kirsty

😀 😀 😀

For the record, I wouldn’t describe you as fat (I’ve never noticed your husband’s dress sense either!)

15 04 2011
feemail

That’s why I like you!

Leave a Reply

