Compared to No-one

4 02 2010

Comparison is a deadly disease. I often read blogs and articles by other women my age and stage or, worse, young girls in their teens and twenties, and see that they are so much more spiritual than I am: they understand more, give more, have greater compassion, make better marmalade.. the list is endless. It’s so depressing. Why should I bother to do what I do when others can do it so much better?

Then I have a word with myself. The word comes from the Bible.

Col 3 v 23 “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, 24since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving. “

God has a plan and a purpose for each of our lives. He placed us in time and situation where he has a function for us to fulfill. He’s not relying on our ability and talent, but on our usability and dependence on him.

He made me exactly as I am so that he can use me exactly as he planned. My job is to take up those responsibilities and accept my limitations.

There’s a lot of freedom in that.

Actions

Information

6 responses

4 02 2010
Andy

As someone said, ‘To love is to stop comparing’ – ahhh. But a lot of in it all the same.

4 02 2010
Andy

That should have been ‘But a lot of truth in it all the same’. Doh!

6 02 2010
Kirsty

Probably they would think the same about you.
We only see the outside of others, but know everything about ourselves

6 02 2010
feemail

Hey Kirsty, good to hear from you. And you’re absolutely right. Someone once told me they thought I was a “sorted” person. I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry!!!

8 02 2010
Kirsty

Aren’t you?

9 02 2010
Feemail

Ho ho ho ha ha ha sob sob!

Leave a Reply

