New Year Resolutions

4 01 2010

There’s been loads of bad press recently regarding new year resolutions. Apparently they cause us to set ourselves up for failure and do us harm. That’s good enough for me, I thought to myself. I’ll content myself with my slovenly bad habits.

Then I came across this little gem in a book I’m reading by Elisabeth Elliot. She’s quoting E.B. Pusey (1800 – 1882) who suggests rules for anyone wishing to gain contentment in a way that reflects Jesus’ attitude (I’ve slightly updated the language.)

  1. Allow yourself to complain of nothing, not even the weather.
  2. Never picture yourself under any circumstances in which you are not.
  3. Never compare your own lot with that of another.
  4. Never allow yourself to dwell on the wish that this or that had been, or were, otherwise than it was, or is. God Almighty loves you better and more wisely than you do yourself.
  5. Never dwell on the morrow. Remember that it is God’s not yours. The heaviest part of sorrow often is to look forward to it. “The Lord will provide.”

Good advice.

Godliness with contentment is great gain.                   1 Timothy 6 v 6

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

