Spoilt for Choice

30 06 2009

I was at Wesley Owen yesterday to spend a voucher I’d received for my birthday.  Oooooh, what to buy?  It’s so delicious to have a voucher in your hand while facing wall after wall of books waiting to be bought.  How to make a choice…?

It was easier than I first thought.

I wasn’t tempted to buy the complete works of Beatrix Potter.

I wasn’t interested in the book that claimed to tell us “the hidden message of Jesus”.  Oh really?  I’m suspicious that the One who claimed to be the way, the truth, the life, the light, the resurrection, the true vine, the bread of life, the good shepherd and the Son of Man had something covert in his mission.  What a waste of time the Bible is then if we need this book to de-code it.

I didn’t think there was much point in buying the book that promised to make me the best I can be.  I’ve seen me at my best and it’s no good.

Nor did I fancy the best selling book that bins God’s self revelation in favour of a more pc image – a god that we wouldn’t be ashamed to share, one that fits in with our trendy, diverse culture of anything goes (so long as we control it).

So now that you’re on the edge of your seat, I’ll tell you what I did buy.  Respectable Sins – Confronting the Sins we Tolerate, by Jerry Bridges.  Our church is doing a series of teaching slots on these issues over the summer but I thought I should buy the book to do a more in-depth study since I’m so well practiced at them…

I’ll let you know how I get on.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

